ELECTRONIC LICENSE VERIFICATION - I.D. CARD ELIMINATED

For licenses and permits effective on or after July 1, 2010, the Board will no longer issue wallet
I.D. cards for renewal and initial license issuance. The on-line electronic “license verification”
website provided by the Board on its website shall serve as the official verification of licensing
status. The on-line license verification system is real-time, and reflects the current computerized
record of each licensee’s status. The system is simple to use and each licensee should print a
copy of their license verification for their records. Here is the procedure:
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Go to www.respiratorycare.ohio.gov.
Click on “License Verification” found under the title “Information” on the right hand side of the

page.
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Enter search criteria. Only enter your last name or license number.
Click “Search”

Click on your license number to access the full status record.

Go to top of the page, click on FILE, then PRINT.

CONTINUING EDUCATION COMPLETION AND RECORD KEEPING

Continuing Education audits always reveal important information we think you should know. Here
are five important tips:
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The Board audits 5-10 percent of all licensees every two years after renewal. The audit
is random. Licensees and Limited Permit Holders (by rule) are required to maintain two
renewal cycles of documentation. This means four years of material for a licensee and
two years of material for a limited permit holder. If you have the NBRC to answer to you
may want to keep the information even longer, since they request 30 contact hours every
five years.

Continuing education must be completed before the expiration date of the license or
permit As a holder of a license or permit you are obligated by law to complete continuing
education on time. It is a professional responsibility that you must meet to hold the
license. If not, you could be cited for failure to meet your requirements on time. Do not
complete continuing education late.

Your continuing education records must match the records you reported on your renewal
application. When renewing, do not report continuing education activity that has not yet
been taken. This is like cashing a check before the money is in the Bank. If you fail to
complete the course, you application may be deemed false.

Your continuing education must meet the requirement of Ohio law. OAC 4761-9-02
requires license holders to complete 20 contact hours of continuing education biennially.
At least 15 of these hours must include content relating to the clinical provision of
respiratory care, 4 hours may come from indirectly related content, and 1 contact hour
must include Ethics or Ohio Respiratory Care Laws/Rules. Employment based limited
permit holders must complete 10 hours annually, applying a 7,2, and 1 formula.

Your continuing education should be selected to meet your needs. Continuing education
should benefit your professional growth and development or address a deficiency in
knowledge or skill.



