
OHIO RESPIRATORY CARE BOARD 
 
Application Instructions for Initial Limited Permit   
 
 
The requirements for a limited permit will vary depending upon whether you are a student enrolled in a 
recognized respiratory care program or a recent graduate of a respiratory care program.  It is important that you 
understand the basis from which you will begin your application process. 
 
Currently Enrolled Students 
 
Students enrolled and in-good-standing in a recognized respiratory care educational program may apply for a 
limited permit to practice respiratory care while completing their educational program.  Practicing respiratory 
care in this sense means gainful employment, not clinical practice required as part of the planned course of study 
of a respiratory care educational program.  Students, while engaged in clinical education, are exempt from 
needing a limited permit.   
 
Recent Graduates 
 
Graduates of a recognized respiratory care program may apply for a limited permit to practice respiratory care in 
Ohio if less than one year has passed since the date of graduation from the respiratory care program.  A limited 
permit, if issued, is only valid until the one-year anniversary date of graduation.  After the one year anniversary 
date, a limited permit holder must cease practicing respiratory care in Ohio.  Once a graduate takes and passes 
the Certified Respiratory Therapist (CRT) Examination administered by the National Board for Respiratory Care, 
Inc. (NBRC) a license may be issued. 
 
Criminal Background Checks 
 
Section 4761.051 of the Ohio Revised Code requires those applying for a license or a limited permit issued by the 
Ohio Respiratory Care Board to submit fingerprints for a criminal records check completed by the Ohio Bureau of 
Criminal Identification and Investigation (BCI&I) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).  To have both of 
these criminal records checks completed, you must submit fingerprints and fees directly to BCI&I either by using a 
fingerprint card supplied by BCI&I or by using a “Web Check” electronic fingerprinting company (only available 
in the State of Ohio) that will submit your fingerprints electronically to BCI&I. 
 
Instructions for Individuals Residing in Ohio or Within 75 Miles of Ohio 
 
Applicants residing in Ohio or within 75 miles of Ohio are required to utilize “WebCheck” to electronically submit 
their fingerprints to BCI&I.  Web Check electronic fingerprints will typically take 7 – 10 days to process.  In 
addition to the $22 BCI&I fee and the $24 FBI fee, the electronic fingerprinting company or law enforcement 
agency may charge an additional processing fee.  Request that the criminal records check be sent directly to: Ohio 
Respiratory Care Board, 77 South High Street, 16th Floor, Columbus, Ohio 43215.  A complete list of Web Check 
sites is available online, arranged by County, at  
 

http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Services/Business/WebCheck/Webcheck-Community-Listing 
 

Important: Locations designated BCI&I and FBI will perform both background checks.   If this notation is not 
present, the location will only perform a BCI&I check, which will be rejected by the Board. 
 
Instructions for Completing the Process 

 
1.  Identify a “Webcheck” vendor that participates in the National Webcheck (BCI&I and FBI). 
2.  Submit your fee directly to the “Webcheck” vendor. 
3.  Request both BCI&I and FBI criminal background check 
4.  Request that the criminal background results be sent to: Ohio Respiratory Care Board, 77 South 

High Street, 16th Floor, Columbus, Ohio 43215. 
5.  Reason Fingerprinted: Required for licensing/permit ORC 4761.051. 
6.  Code -  1AB002 (if requested) 
 
 



Instructions for Non-Residence More Than 75 miles from Ohio 
 

Non-residents living more than 75 miles from Ohio are directed to obtain fingerprints submitted by card (called 
“rolled” prints because they are ink based).  You must telephone the Board to obtain two cards.  Rolled Prints will 
take longer to process and additional delays can occur due to poor fingerprint quality, resulting in unreadable prints.  
The Board directs applicants using a fingerprint card to take the fingerprint cards to their local law enforcement 
where a qualified person can take your prints.  You will need valid identification to complete the fingerprint card.  
Your local law enforcement may charge a processing fee in addition to the fee required by the BCI&I and the FBI. 
 
1.  Call the Board to obtain two cards for filing (one for BCI&I and one for the FBI). 
2.  Complete and send BOTH cards to the BCI&I.  BCII will process the “Civilian Background 

Check” and will forward the other card to the FBI for processing. 
3.  Complete all the information above the solid blue lines in BLACK INK. 
4.  Write clearly, unreadable cards will be rejected. 
5.  Do not alter the cards or boxes.  Do not fold or bend card when mailing. 
6.  Each card requires a separate cashier’s check or money order (personal checks are not accepted).  

Make cashier’s checks and money orders payable to “Treasurer, State of Ohio.”  Submit $22.00 
for the BCI&I Civilian Bnd Address: Ohio Reackground Check and $24.00 for the FBI 
background check. 

7.  For the FBI:  Employer aspiratory Care Board, 77 South High Street, 16th Floor, Columbus, Ohio 43215; Reason 
Fingerprinted: Required for licensing/permit ORC 4761.051; Your No. OCA 1AB002; Race: W (White); B 
(Black); A (Asian); I (American Indian/Alaskan Native American); or U (Unknown): Eyes BLK (Black); BLU 
(Blue); BRO (Brown); GRN (Green); GRY (Gray); or XXX (Unknown). 

8.  Send the cards and fee to BCI&I, c/o Special Requests Desk, P.O. Box 365, London, Ohio 43140 (740845-
2375). 

 
Completing an Application 
 
Please read these instructions carefully.  Incomplete applications will be returned! 
 
 
STEP 1 Complete all sections in BLUE  or BLACK ink.  DO NOT use pencil.  If a section does not apply, please mark N/A. 
 
STEP 2      Sign and date the application. 
 
STEP 3      Have application Notarized. 
 
STEP 4      Mail the application, documentation and fees to the following address: 

 
Ohio Respiratory Care Board 

77 South High Street, 16th Floor 
Columbus, Ohio 43215-6108 

 
 DOCUMENTS WE NEED FOR: 

 
 

YOUR LIMITED PERMIT 

< Application 

< Initial fee and renewal fee (if required) 

< Verification of Education form (for students) 

< Official Transcript (for graduates only) 

< State License Verification(s) (if coming from a licensed state) 

< Certified Court Documents - If Applicable 

 

 
 

 HOW TO COMPLETE THE APPLICATION 
 
To review the qualifications for a limited permit, read O.R.C. Section 4761.05 and O.A.C. rule 4761-6-01. To qualify for a limited permit, you must  
possess good moral character, be a student enrolled and in good-standing in a recognized respiratory care educational program or a graduate of a 
recognized educational program no more than one-year after the graduation date from the program. 
 
Recognized programs are defined in rule 4761-4-01 of the Ohio Administrative Code, to wit: 



 
(1)  Are accredited by or are under a letter of review from the committee on accreditation for respiratory care (CoARC) under the auspices of the 

commission of accreditation of allied health educational programs (CAAHEP) or their successor organization(s); and 
 

(2) Require a minimum of an associate degree or it's equivalent with a major in respiratory care. 
 
Most sections on this form are self-explanatory.  Those that may need some explanation are discussed below. 

 
PART A     Mailing address is where you would like mail to be sent.  Permanent address may be the same as your mailing address or different 

if you have a permanent residence elsewhere. 
 

PART B     This section must be complete, including zip codes, counties, and dates of employment. Use extra paper if necessary 
 
PART C    Initial limited permits will expire on June 30 of each year, regardless of the original issue date.  The initial fee for a limited permit 

is $20.00.  After January 1st, the board will waive the renewal fee for the following year cycle, extending the expiration date by one 
year.   We accept only checks or money orders.  DO NOT SEND CASH.  Make checks payable to the Treasurer, State of Ohio.  
All fees are non refundable. 

  
PART D     This section must completed by all applicants regardless of whether the application is student-based or graduation-based.  Read 

O.A.C. rule 4761-4-01.  If  a graduate of a recognized respiratory care educational program, an "official transcript" must be mailed 
to the board by the educational institution.   Enrolled students must have the director of the educational program complete a 
"Verification of Education" form. 

 
 

PART E Most limited permit applicants have either failed to pass or have not taken the Certified Respiratory Therapist (CRT) examination 
offered by the National Board for Respiratory Care, Inc.  This section, however, must be completed.  If the examination has not 
been taken, report "NOT APPLICABLE" on the form, otherwise report dates and scaled score attained.  Use additional paper, if 
required. 

 
PART F To qualify for a limited permit in Ohio, you are required to establish proof of good moral character.  Please answer all questions 

openly and honestly.  If permits have been or are currently held in other states, a "verification of state license" form must mailed to 
each state for submission to Ohio. The Ohio Respiratory Care Board recommends that applicants contact other states to determine 
if fees are required for verification.  

 
 

 FINAL NOTE 

The aforementioned instructions briefly review the documentation requirements needed to process your application.  Qualifications for a license or 
limited permit, including the specific recognition of examinations or education programs are completely covered in the laws and rules regulating the 
practice of respiratory care in Ohio.  The board strongly encourages all applicants to read the law and rules before submitting a fee and completing this 
application. 


