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APPLICATION FOR HOME MEDICAL EQUIPMENT PROVIDER LICENSE 
               
  

The Home Medical Equipment Provider Licensing Act of 2004 requires a license or 
certification of registration for facilities providing home medical equipment services to Ohio 
citizens.  This application is to be used to obtain a license to provide home medical equipment 
services.  If your facility is accredited by the Joint Commission or another accrediting 
organization recognized by the Ohio Respiratory Care Board under OAC rule 4761:1-4-01 you 
must apply for a certificate of registration, not a license.  To see a complete list of recognized 
accrediting organization visit www.hme.ohio.gov.  

               
 

All Applicants, please complete the following: 
 
 All information must be accurate and complete.  Incomplete applications will not be 

processed and will be returned to you for completion. 
 Information should be typed or printed legibly with black or blue ink. 
 A separate application is required for each facility engaged in providing HME services. 

 
The following documentation must be attached or provided: 
 

 A list of all personnel currently employed at the HME facility, including job titles. 
 A Certificate of Product and Professional Liability Insurance: showing a minimum of 

one million dollars per occurrence, three million dollars aggregate coverage.  
 A list of persons who have criminal convictions, include title of conviction and when and 

where the conviction took place (This does not include traffic or moving violations) 
            
 

  
 
Pursuant to OAC 4761:1-8-01, if the license application is filed on or after January 1st of an even year, but before June 30th of the 
same year, the Board will waive the initial license fee, but require the renewal fee for the following biennial licensing cycle.   
 

For applications filed (date stamped by the RCB office) on or after January 1st 
of an even year, but before 

June 30th
 of the same year, the Initial License Fee is waived.  Instead, a Renewal Fee of $400.00 is required.  

 

On all other filing dates, the initial fee is:  $300.00 
  
Payment of all fees must be paid by check/money order made payable to: Treasurer, State of Ohio.  All fees are nonrefundable.   
     
 

 
 
Mail the completed application with the fee in the form of a check/money order to: 
 
  Ohio Respiratory Care Board – HME Division 
  77 South High Street, 16th Floor 
  Columbus, Ohio 43215 
            
 
  For assistance in completing your application or if you have any questions, please call  
 Marcia L. Tatum, HME Manger at:   614-644-4732 
            
 
 Or visit our website at: www.hme.ohio.gov  
            
HME  Form RCB-034 Prior effective dates: 5/20/05, 02/13/07, 07/15/07, 01/03/2008, 06/17/2008, 09/09/2009, 12/16/2009, 10/13/2010, 12/7/2011 
Revised:  6/18/2014.  All other versions are obsolete and will not be accepted 

Nonrefundable Fees  (Read Carefully!) 

General 
Instructions 

Purpose 

Mailing Address 

Telephone No. 



 

Ohio Respiratory Care Board 
77 S. High Street, 16th Floor 

Columbus, Ohio 43215-6108 
614-752-9218 

www.hme.ohio.gov  

 
 
 
 

Application for HME License 
  
  
 
  
  
 
 
 

             
  
 
PART A – Facility Information       Please check if this is a facility relocation Current lic. #(HMEL. ________) 
 

Name of Owner or Corporation 

 

Corporation Mailing Address   -  Street                                                       City                                State                                  Zip 

 

Name of Facility 

Facility Mailing Address, if different than above -  Street                           City                                State                                  Zip 
 

Phone Number of Facility 

 
County 
 

Name of Authorized Representative Agent 

 
SSN * 
 
Last four digits      _______ 

Date of Birth 

Facility Manager (If different than above) 

 
SSN * 
 
Last four digits      _______ 

Date of Birth 

Names and last four digits of Social Security Numbers of all 
shareholders, members or partners owning more than five percent 
interest (attach separate piece of paper if needed).  Print or type legibly. 

Names of Shareholder, members, or partners 

1. 

2. 

3. 

4. 
Emergency Phone Number (must be 24 hour number) Ohio Medicaid Number Medicare Number 

Email Address  Federal Tax I.D. *

Please give a brief description of your facility, including scope of product sold, maintained, leased or stored; facility sq. footage and any other storage 
facilities: 
 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
 

              
FOR ORCB USE ONLY 

 

Money Order/Check # 
 
 

Amount         Check Date/ RCO # Receipt Date: 
 
 

Executive Director’s Signature                                              Date 
 
 

License  # 

 
* Your Federal Tax I.D.  number is required by federal law for purposes of reporting to the Federal Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (42 
U.S.C. Sections 1320a-7e(b), 5 U.S.C. Section 552a, and 45 C.F.R. pt. 61).  It may also be used for reporting to law enforcement authorities for 
investigative/law enforcement purposes in compliance with ORC 4761.031, and/or as otherwise required by state and federal law.

General Purpose: This application is to obtain a License to provide Home Medical Equipment Services as defined under division 
(C) of Section 4752.01 ORC.  HME equipment covered under Ohio law is listed under division (B) of Section 4752.01 ORC and 
rule 4761:1-3-02 OAC.  Exceptions to the Ohio’s HME licensing requirement are listed under division (B) of Section 4752.02 
ORC.  Please complete all sections and include all requested documents and application fees.  Incomplete applications will be 
held open for ninety days; afterwards the application may be abandoned pursuant to OAC rule 4761:1-6-04. 
 
Instructions:  If a section does not apply, please mark “N/A”.   All incomplete applications will be returned.  All fees must be 
submitted in the form of a check/money order made payable to the Treasurer, State of Ohio.  Pursuant to Section 4752.05 
(D) ORC, a license is valid from the day it is issued until the thirtieth day of June of the even year that immediately 
follows the date of issue, unless the license is issued within six months of this date.  Any license issued less than 
six months prior to June thirtieth of an even year, will have the initial application fee waived, but must pay the 
renewal fee for the following biennial period.  Thereafter, the license is valid only if it is renewed biennially on or 
before the thirtieth day of June of an even year.  The issuance date of the license is the date the authorization is 
effective. 
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PART B – Services Provided           
 

THE FOLLOWING ARE LISTED AS HME UNDER RULE 4761:1-3-2 OAC.  PLEASE CHECK ALL THAT APPLY TO YOUR FACILITY.  

"Life-sustaining equipment" means equipment prescribed by an authorized health care professional that mechanically sustains, restores, or 
supplants a vital bodily function, such as breathing, including but not limited to: 

 Ventilators 

 Oxygen Concentrators 

 Oxygen Liquid Systems 

 Oxygen Compressed Gas Systems 

 Non Invasive Ventilator System (i.e. Bi-Level, Iron 
Lungs, Rocking Beds, Diaphragmatic pacers, etc.) 

"Technologically-sophisticated" means medical equipment prescribed by an authorized health care professional that requires 
individualized adjustment or regular maintenance by an HME service provider to maintain a patient's health care condition or the 
effectiveness of the equipment, including but not limited to:  

 Oxygen conservation devices 

 Continuous positive airway pressure devices (CPAP) 

 Bi-level positive airway pressure devices (BiPAP) 

 Intrapulmonary percussive ventilation devices (IPV) 

 Intermittent positive pressure breathing devices (IPPB) 

 Cough-assist mechanical in-ExSufflator 

 Apnea monitors 

 Percussors for chest physiotherapy 

 Suction machines 

 Feeding pumps 

 Infusion pumps 

 Continuous passive motion  devices (CPM) 

 Custom seating or positioning systems 

 Custom rehab equipment (i.e. standers & gait trainers) 

 Vacuum Assisted Wound Closure Devices 

 Drop foot stimulators 

 Bone growth stimulators 

 Vision Restoration Therapy Devices 

 Electric wheelchairs and custom scooters 

 Auto-titrating airway devices 

 In-home patient lifts

"Other items" means equipment specified by the board under division (B) (3) of section 4752.01 of the Revised Code and division (B) of 
section 4752.17 of the Revised Code.  Other items include, but are not limited to:   

 Pulse oximeters  

 Home phototherapy (Bili lights or blankets) 

 Individually sized or customized accessories that are an 
integral part of equipment defined in paragraphs (A), 
(B), or  (C) of OAC rule 4761:1-3-02. 

 Transcutaneous electronic nerve stimulators (TENS), 
excluding devices labeled by the federal food and drug 
administration for over-the-counter use and are 
identified with the federal food and drug administration 
product code “NUH.OTC TENS”.

 
 

PART C -  Prior Conviction Records 
 

 
TO BE COMPLETED BY ALL APPLICANTS  (Check not applicable box, if none to report:   N/A) 

 
 
Has applicant, or any personnel therein listed, ever been convicted in a court of law, hearing, or other administrative procedure with any violation of the 
laws of the United States or of any individual state, relating to dangerous drugs, alcohol,  fraud, theft, sexual misconduct, assault or homicide. (If “Yes”, 
state all particulars, dates, places, and present status below)                                                                                   
          
Name of Employee 
 
 

Title of conviction (include when and where the conviction took place) 

Name of Employee 
 
 

Title of conviction (include when and where the conviction took place) 

Name of Employee 
 
 

Title of conviction (include when and where the conviction took place) 

Name of Employee 
 
 

Title of conviction (include when and where the conviction took place) 
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PART D –  Certification of Qualifications 

 

TO BE COMPLETED BY ALL APPLICANTS 
 

To be licensed as an HME service provider, please indicate your compliance by placing your INITIALS in the box: 
 
 
                  Yes                        No You maintain a facility to adequately store, maintain, lease or sell the home medical equipment 

in which you have listed on your application for licensure; 
 
 
                  Yes                        No You have reviewed the standards of practice for a license holder under OAC 4761:1-9-01, 

standards for maintaining a facility under OAC 4761:1-9-02, standards for maintaining 
equipment under OAC 4761:1-9-03, client records standards OAC 4761:1-9-04, and personnel 
standards under OAC 4761:1-9-05.  You affirm that you meet all standards to acquire and hold a 
license under OAC 4761:1-9.  (Rules are available at www.hme.ohio.gov.) 

 
                           
                  Yes                        No You have trained personnel on staff to ensure that your equipment is maintained, leased and sold 

in a manner that is safe to the public; 
 
                  Yes                        No   You minimally possess product and professional liability insurance coverage in the amount of 

one million dollars per occurrence, three million dollars aggregate; 
 
                  Yes                        No You have a filing system established to document all sales and leases of medical equipment, 

including pertinent medical records; 
 
                  Yes                        No You meet all established federal, state and local rules and regulations regarding the maintenance, 

storage and sale of home medical equipment. 

 
 
 PART E -  Other licenses  (Check not applicable box, if none apply:   N/A) 
 

 
FDA# _________________________ 

 
DOT# _________________________ 

 
Pharmacy Lic. # ___________________ 

 
 

PART F – Practice Questions (Please Initial (not check) Yes/No answers) 
 
1.   How long has this HME facility been renting, selling, delivering, installing, maintaining, replacing or demonstrating  the HME 

services (as defined under OAC rule 4761:1-3-02) to Ohio citizens? Since ________ (mo/yr) 
 
2.   Have you ever been denied a license, certification, or registration as an HME facility in any state, for any reason?  

____ Yes   ____ No 
 
3.   Has any license or accreditation associated with the practice of HME ever been revoked, suspended,  or conditionally approved? 
 ____ Yes   ____ No 
 
4.   Have you ever violated any provision of the Ohio Revised Code, including providing HME services to Ohio citizens without a license 

or registration? 
  ____ Yes   ____ No 

 
TO BE COMPLETED BY ALL APPLICANTS 

 

I do solemnly swear or affirm that the answers appearing hereon are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief, that I am 
legally authorized to sign for this business, and that this business complies with all applicable federal and State licensure and regulatory 
requirements; maintains a physical facility and medical equipment inventory (there shall only be one license permitted at each address); 
establishes proof of commercial general liability insurance, including but not limited to, coverage for products liability and professional 
liability; establishes and provides records of annual continuing education for personnel engaged in the delivery, maintenance, repair, 
cleaning and inventory control, and financial management of home medical equipment and services; maintains personnel policies, if 
applicable; makes life sustaining home medical equipment and services available 24 hours per day and 7 days a week; and complies 
with any additional qualifications for licensure as determined by rule of the board. 
 
I hereby request that in order to process my application, act upon renewal requests, and to respond to public requests to confirm my 
license/certificate status, my personal information be accessed in accordance with OAC 4761:1-16-05(D)(2)(d)(ii). 
 
___________________________________________       ________________________________________    _____________________ 
Type or print name of authorized representative agent               Signature of authorized representative agent                           Date 
(Person officially authorized to sign for facility) 

 


